The Weather

Weather forecast for tonight: dark. Continued dark overnight, with widely scattered light by morning
- George Carlin US comedian and actor (1937 - 2008)

 

Why are we so obsessed with the weather? We can't do anything about it. It's going to happen, no matter what. Yet it is one of the most common conversational openings ever. "Hi, how are you? Lovely day isn't it?". "Geez it's cold today". "Oh bother, it's raining!". Why do we do it? What is this obsession with the weather? Somebody please explain it to me. I am going to get up and go to work regardless of whether its sunny or blowing a gale. I am going to do my washing and either use the dryer or hang it on the line - either way, it'll get done. The weather is incidental to this, I just change my behaviour accordingly. It's not like I can say, "oh, its raining, turn it off so I can do this or that".  I admit that I do feel better when the sun is shining, but then how do people in say, California, feel when the sun shines all the time? Oh thank god, its raining, I feel so much better!?

Get this folks, the weather is one of the few things, like death and taxes, that you can't do much about. Live with it.