Can you live without electricity for a month?

Well, can you? Be mighty hard, so many of the things we take for granted use electricity. The fridge, the microwave, washing machine, TV, electric blanket, alarm clock, computer, hot water cylinder.... could you do it? I don't think I could, I like my creature comforts too much. Never been into the outdoors life - camping is just not for me. I prefer a nice civilised hotel room with all mod cons.

But what if you HAD to live without electricity, say, in the event of a major disaster? How many of us would be prepared, or even be able to light a fire and cook a meal on it? Hmmm, not me for sure. Perhaps I need to take stock and get some basic survival lessons. We live here, in New Zealand, with the always present threat of a major earthquake at any time. So it is entirely feasible that one day we will have to fend for ourselves for a while until services are restored. I don't have anything prepared. I should do, but I just "haven't got around to it". Put that on my "to do" list.

There are very capable people out there who would know what to do and how to survive - I'm just not one of them. I think I am a bit lazy and tend to think well, if the worst happened then someone will come along and take me under their wing (I hope).